Daily Archives: December 12, 2011

Not Like Any Other Sunday

This is my excerpt from the book of Tornado Stories put together by two other volunteers Cathy Cove and Elizabeth Bundy-Cooper donating all proceeds to another volunteer organization called Victims Services. Book requests can be made through goderichstories@gmail.com and cost $20

So, right from the get-go I was having my typical sunday afternoon nap, or trying to, when the phone starts ringing off the hook. Our phone rings four times before it goes to the answering machine. I kept coming to and drifting off again but the bloody thing wouldn’t stop!!! Needless to say, I was a little sharp with the caller. Turns out it was an old girlfriend of mine telling me Goderich was hit by a cyclone again (1995) and I’d better get the truck in there to see if my business is all right and check on my friends to see if they are too.

I grab my camera and a few extra batteries to take picutes of the knocked down trees. I had no idea what had happened until I hit the road block coming in from the north side of town. A man that had been turned away was driving by us slowly telling us we had been hit by a Tornado.

Continue reading